Skip to content

Lewyn Addresses America

A little politics, a little urbanism- I also blog 100 percent on urbanism at https://www.planetizen.com/user/63 and http://www.cnu.org/blog/194

I don’t have any opinion as to whether the jury acted correctly; I didn’t follow the case to any significant degree, so I am happy to admit that I don’t know enough to have an informed opinion.

But, putting on my political junkie hat, it was interesting to see how my Facebook acquaintances divided in the first few weeks after the incident.

Long before the trial, Democrats were instinctively ready to condemn Mr. Zimmerman. Republicans were instinctively ready to defend him.  

So what did this tell me?  In a dispute between a working-class white guy and a black guy, Democrats instinctively support the black guy and want to prosecute the white guy. Republicans instinctively want to defend the white guy and explain why the black guy deserved what he got.  So far so good, but…

1.  Given their attitudes, should Democrats be surprised that they have trouble getting white working-class votes?

2.  Given their attitudes, should Republicans be surprised that they have trouble getting black votes?

 

